We're big fans of Netflix here at Cordcutting.com. With an unrivaled selection of movies and shows, the streaming giant is the clear king among online video services. But, hey, there may come a time when you just don't need Netflix anymore. Maybe you're moving in with someone who already has an account. Maybe you just want Hulu instead. Whatever the reason, we're here to help. Here's our step-by-step guide to canceling Netflix.

Step 1: Log In

Netflix Login

Netflix needs to know who is canceling, after all. If you've forgotten your password, you can use your email to reset it.

Step 2: Head to Your Account Settings Page

Netflix Home

Once you've logged in, take a look up in the upper right-hand corner. Hover over your account name and icon, and a drop-down menu will appear. Click on the “Your Account” button on this menu.

Step 3: Click on “Cancel Membership”

Netflix My Account

On the account settings page, the cancellation button is front and center. Go ahead and click it.

Step 4: Is This Your Final Answer?

Netflix Cancel Your Membership

Netflix will redirect you to one final confirmation page. Just click the “Finish Cancellation” button to break up with them for good. You should receive a confirmation email from Netflix. Netflix won't forget about you, though – if you re-activate your account within ten months, you'll find that your favorites and other preferences are still saved.

One important thing to note – if you're grandfathered into Netflix's old lower prices, you'll be losing those for good. If you ever re-activate your account, you'll be paying the new higher prices with everyone else!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *